Located on the outskirts of Larbert, roughly halfway between Glasgow and Edinburgh in the Scottish lowlands, Carronvale House has been an important site for the Boys’ Brigade for over seventy five years.
The name was originally Broomage or Brumeinche, meaning broom meadow or links. In 1452, James II gave the lands to James Rutherford for faithful service. The house and estate underwent many changes to both the house and grounds, with each successive owner putting their own individual mark on the property. Many of these contribute to the grade A heritage listed status of parts of the unique architectural and decorative features of the house.
During the war of 1914-18, Officers of the 8th Scottish Rifles were billeted in the stables of the estate, and during the Second World War, The Prudential Insurance Company used the house for record storage.
Shortly after the war, The Boys’ Brigade was searching for a suitable location for a training centre in Scotland, having given up Balrossie to the war effort. The Boys’ Brigade was able to purchase Carronvale House to serve the training needs of the organisation in Scotland and, on 28th June 1947, was officially opened by Lord Holm, Brigade President.
Since its opening Carronvale House has been a centre of activity for the Boys’ Brigade and has been the venue for a diverse range of training activities. From the early years of its use by the Brigade, one of the central training events was the King George VI Leadership training when, for a couple of weeks each summer, Carronvale House housed intensive training for senior non-commissioned Officers. Over the years the programme of training has expanded to meet the needs of the Boys’ Brigade members, Officers, and helpers alike.